2008. The current year. The year we've been looking forward to since the sixth grade, ever since somebody was clever enough to count and see exactly what year we'd be graduating.
And it's finally here. Been along time since the nineties; lots happened, and alots changed.
But it's all been for the better- brought us closer.
Except for that one thing. In 2007. The year I graduated. People don't like it when you make plans and ditch out on weekends. I ditched out of an entire year's worth of plans. People don't like that.
Now it's me. All about me. Me making progress, doing shit, and, most importantly, not being in high school. Sure I miss it. Doesn't change the fact that I love being in college. Or the fact that I dislike being the outsider.
The kid who ditched out, a whole year early. Not even to do something normal- like make meth in my basement or get a construction job. Not really even something spectacular- UIowa ain't no ivy leaguer. To most, it just looks like a ditch- I left just because. And for no good reason. Is this true? Well, yes Mostly- I'm not surprised I still can't come up with a good reason for graduating early. I guess I'm just surprised that I was dumb enough to believe noone would hold it against me. Or that nothing would really change for me back home.
I don't know. Every class grows apart after graduation- I just happen to be falling away like a normal graduated person, while everyone else lives the normal senior year. Think like a group of old fox-hole veterans- I'm the guy who gets cancer 30 years before everyone else; and now I have to watch as everyone else, the same people who've battled thru it all with me as a team, gets happily married and lives the good life and all that. Sure, we'll all get old and die sometime- it just sucks to be the one who dies before seeing the moon landing*.
*metaphor may or may not be kinda based on Forrest Gump.